Transvulcania, to open the ISF calendar in 2015

Skyrunner-World-Series largeThe 73 Km Ultramarathon, the longest of the Transvulcania races, will open again the International Skyrunning Federation calendar in 2015. The most prestigious and most veteran organization of the trail running scene, established in 2008 by the celebrated Italian alpinist Marino Giacometti, has once more backed the quality of the competition held in La Palma. Just five ultramarathons are chosen to be part of the list per year, which in 2015 and in addition to Transvulcania will be the Mont Blanc 80 KM (France), the Tromsø Sky Race (set up by Emelie Forsberg and Killian Jornet in Norway), The Rut 50 K (USA) and the Ultra Pirineu (formerly known as Cavalls del Vent).


The Councilor for Sports at the Cabildo de la Palma (the government of the island), praised the renovation of the ISF support. «The presence of Transvulcania in the 2015 calendar is a strong endorsement of the quality of its organization and that of its course. Just a handful of competitions get to be on the list and only the best in the world do so».

In that respect, the ISF stamp guarantees the presence of the top competitors, who need to run at least 3 of the 5 enlisted ultramarathons in order to snatch the Ultra Skymarathon World Series title. In 2014, for instance, the two best male and female competitors attended Transvulcania. The best male athlete was the Spanish Killian Jornet (runner up in Transvulcania 2014 and absolute winner in 2013), while the second place was awarded to the USA born Sage Canaday (third place in Transvulcania 2014). In women, the title went to Emelie Forsberg (winner in Transvulcania 2013 and retired after becoming injured in 2014). Close in her steps was Anna Frost, winner of Transvulcania in 2012 and 2014 and its fastest female competitor ever.

The international spirit of the ISF is proven by its selection of races across five continents. Among them are the Australian Buffalo Stampede, the alpine races at Dolomites (Italy) and the Matterhorn (Switzerland) and the veteran Zegama-Aizkorri, ran since 2000 in the Basque Country (Northern Spain).


Deja una Respuesta